Home News Local election results in Newton-le-Willows and Earlestown

Local election results in Newton-le-Willows and Earlestown

by admin

Local elections took place yesterday, to decide on a number of local and regional positions, including local councillors for Newton and Earlestown.

Counting took place today in the local elections  – and the results are now in!

Results in Newton

Sev Gomez-Aspron has been re-elected for Labour.

Cllr Gomez picked up 1,544 votes, putting him comfortably in front of his rivals.

  • Phil Cass – Liberal Democrats: 630
  • Lisa Cunliffe – Conservative: 589
  • Seve Gomez-Aspron – Labour: 1544
  • John Richards – Green Party – Save Our Green Space: 331.

Results in Earlestown

Due to a vacant seat, two councillors have been elected to the Earlestown ward.

They are Terry Maguire, an indepedent candidate (a hold for independents); and Jeanette Banks for Labour (a Labour hold).

The full results were:

  • Jeanette Banks – Labour: 1159
  • Allan Dockerty – Conservative: 374
  • Terry Maguire – Independent: 1395
  • Paula Pietrzak – Green Party – Save Our Green Space: 468
  • Charlie Preston – Labour: 679

Congratulations to all the successful candidates!

Tomorrow, counting will take place in the elections for the Mayor of the Liverpool City Region Combined Authority and Police and Crime Commissioner.

Here’s a reminder of the candidates:

Candidates for Liverpool City Region Mayor are:

  • Gary Cargill – Green Party
  • Jade Marsden – Conservative
  • David Newman – Liberal Democrats
  • Steve Rotheram – Labour.

Candidates for Police and Crime Commissioner for the Merseyside Police Area: 

  • Kristofor Brown – Liberal Democrats
  • Emily Spurrell – Labour and Co-Operative Party
  • Bob Teesdale – Conservative
  • Malcolm Webster – Reform UK.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.